6 hour tour to Neringa National Park
The Curonian Spit was first mentioned in Teutonic Order documents in 1429 and 1497, however originally, the settlement was 2 km south of today's position. Continuously threatened by sand drifts, it was moved to today's position in 1784 and up until 1945, it was a part of the German province of East Prussia.
After World War II, Nida was a little-visited fishing village. In the 1970s, together with three other villages of Neringa municipality (Juodkrantė, Preila and Pervalka), it was reserved as a by-invitation-only holiday resort with controlled entry regime and accommodation reserved almost exclusively for the Communist party nomenklatura and senior government and industry elite. Thanks to the very strict planning regulations, a ban on any industrial development and more generous municipal subsidies, it remained an unspoiled and clean territory. Today, the number of visitors is kept small by a low number of available hotel rooms (as all new developments are permitted only on old building footprint), high accommodation prices, ferry tolls and entry pass costs.
This sightseeing tour is organized from Klaipeda and takes 6 hours.