Half day sightseeing tour to Palanga

Detail description
Lithuania's prime seaside resort is just 25 km away from Klaipeda. The tour offers visit to the Amber Museum - Count Tyszkewicz Palace, walk in the Botanical Park designed by famous landscape architect Edouard Andre with Birute's Hill - a 22 meter high dune, the central Basanaviciaus street full of souvenir shops, open-air cafes leading to the beach and the pier - famous Palanga bridge.

The name of Palanga may be derived from the legend about fisherman houses and the wind which was covering them with sands up to windowsill (palangė lt). More likely, it is derived from hydroid Alanga - this is how Rąžė river used to be called in the past and Palanga means "On the Alanga".

The first mention of Palanga is related to the story of the legendary landing to Palanga in 1161 of the army of Danish king Valdemar I. Only in 1253 Palanga was mentioned in chronicles of German Order. Throughout the history, Palanga had many  conquerors: vikings of Normans coveted these lands, as well as the repeating devastations of crusaders in 13th - 14th century. Only after the Battle of Grunwald (in 1410), by the peace contract of Meln concluded in 1422, the invasions to Lithuanian territory were stopped. And December 31st, 1435, by the peace treaty of Brest, Palanga was assigned back to Lithuania. At the beginning of 19th century Palanga evolved as resort town. Count Michael Joseph Tyszkewicz bought Palanga in 1824 and his family put big efforts to develop Palanga into what we can see today.

Amber Museum. About 4,500 exhibit pieces of amber can be found in the rooms of the museum. Visitors are acquainted with the formation, processing, practical use, and morphological variations of amber. The museum has a wealth of amber pieces with trapped insects or plants, a collection of unique pieces of amber, and examples of fossilized tree resin brought from all over the world.

This tour is organized from Klaipeda and takes 4 hours.